Skip to content

Music Success in Nine Weeks – Week 1 – Blog Challenge 2.0

July 13, 2010

So I’ve done it. I’ve gone and entered a blogging challenge for the next nine weeks, and here it is. Blog 1, Week 1. I’m slightly intimidated because I could write a whole book about this book, but I’ll keep it short and simple. Not quite as short and simple as twitter, but not as long-winded as I could be. Ah! Already blowing it! OK, back to the point:

I’ve had this wonderful book Music Success in Nine Weeks in my hands since I had the pleasure of winning a twitter contest in March where I got to meet the author herself, Ariel Hyatt, (and CMT’s Jay Frank, along with two other contest winners) in person, in my home-town of Toronto during CMW. I had been reading Ariel’s blogs and columns and seeing her referenced all over the place by people like Derek Sivers for a few years and I really wanted her book. For whatever reason, I didn’t get around to picking it up (I wasn’t goal setting properly!), but then I lucked out when I not only got a copy of Ariel’s book, but Jay Frank’s book futurehit.dna too, AND free dinner. Sweet. Oh yeah – and p.s. – they are both really great people! And good-lookin’ to boot. Just sayin’.

So, the book begins with Week 1: Getting Mentally Prepared. After the tasty dinner, it was the beginning of April, and I devoured the entire book in a few days, taking notes, and getting the general feel of it. Then, I went back and followed the steps for Week 1 around goal setting. For now, I’ll avoid the specifics of my goals (they’ll come up as the weeks progress) but, Wow. It wasn’t exactly an easy thing to do. When I started thinking about my goals – like *really* thinking – it was much harder than I thought it would be to decide what I wanted. I discovered that I didn’t want some things I really thought I did… Some of them rather surprising (another blog topic!). That was a very important thing! I feel like I saved years of running in circles. I’m really not sure why I didn’t do it before. I usually do goal set. I LOVE and have read, and re-read, Steven Covey’s, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People for the last 18(!) years, and I’ve been a visualizer for as long as I can remember, but for some reason, I hadn’t been setting any real, quantifiable goals for my music. Possibly because I didn’t have a music specific set of guidelines. But now I do! It’s, Music Success in Nine Weeks, and it’s a new favourite book of mine! It’s such a powerful – and necessary! – thing to know what you want. Thanks Ariel!!!

So, for the last 15 weeks I’ve been following the process laid out in the book, and trying to accomplish each step in some form or another. Yes I know that 15 weeks is longer than 9 weeks, but I’m not worried that I’m not done yet. I’m in 5 music projects currently, among other things, and I know all too well what a process is. Wash, rinse, repeat. But I enjoy it! That’s a tip from the book too, by the way… Have fun!

But this is the most most favourite thing from Week 1: 5 tiny successes… Life-changing! Paradigm-altering. Wonderful for remaining positive! I have a tendency to slip into negativity quite easily, and this little exercise is good preventative medicine. Some days I write down way more than 5. Some days I forget to do it, so I write down more the next day. If this was the only thing new I learned from the book, it’d be worth it. Ariel mentions that it’s from T. Harv Eker’s, The Secrets of the Millionaire Mind. I think I’ll have to read that one, too.

So – there you have it. That’s Week 1. Goal setting. Awesome. I’ll admit a few of mine have been late out of the gate (mostly the personal ones), or not exactly tackled yet, but there are some others that are almost fully implemented with excellent results, and I’m having TONS of fun interacting with my friends and fans in cyberspace!

Musicians, artists, anyone with a self-employment angle really – if you don’t already own a copy of the book – go get it! And then go set some goals – you’ll love it!

Thanks for reading – I hope you’ll check in next week,

Kim

xxoo

www.kimjarrett.com
gigs – cds – mp3s – news

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanessa permalink
    July 14, 2010 3:05 pm

    Yay! I’m the first to comment!

    I may not be a musician, but I have certainly been thinking about the whole goal-setting thing a lot lately. I look forward to more posts from you!

Trackbacks

  1. Music Success in Nine Weeks – Week 8 – Blog Challenge 2.0 « Kim Jarrett – Official Blog
  2. The Artist: 3 Common Struggles, and 3 Solutions for Success « Kim Jarrett – Official Blog

Leave a Reply

