Skip to content

Music Success in Nine Weeks – Week 2 – Blog Challenge 2.0

July 19, 2010

Award-winning soft rock with the sophistication of James Taylor, warm 70s sound of Fleetwood Mac, and rootsy edge of Sheryl Crow.

Yay! Yay! Yay! I repeat. YAY!

16 weeks… 16 weeks of tearing my hair out, talking to myself in the mirror and out loud, reading it off a “practice” postcard and some of my web profiles, and finally today – Bingo. A pitch I’m happy with. My USP. My brand. Something that makes sense to me (and hopefully others).

This part of Ariel’s book, Music Success in Nine Weeks – Week 2 – on crafting your perfect pitch really had me confused, overwhelmed, irritated. So much so that the fact I was having so much trouble – mostly with the appropriate “sounds like” artists – stalled some other things I wanted to get done because I didn’t want to have to change all of my websites and assorted materials, and then not like it, and have to change them all again, and I didn’t want to print cards that I wouldn’t be happy with, and blah blah, excuses, excuses. I had been using a stripped down version of the above pitch for about half a year but it didn’t seem quite right. I watched Ariel and Derek talk about it in “Sound Advice TV”, and I went on 15secondpitch.com and tried stuff out but I just couldn’t find the right words. So I sort of gave up. Ish…

I tried to keep practicing versions of it on people at gigs and such, I tried asking my fans and some others but no one seemed to be able to say anything very interesting or descriptive. I would say things like “soft rock with a 70s edge” and it would work – sort of. People would say “I love the 7os”, and such – who doesn’t? – but they didn’t look all that interested to hear more.

I just kept hoping it would magically appear one day… Thankfully, Mike (my bassist/producer/partner/personal chef/computer guru/general all around go-to-guy) had the brilliant James Taylor revelation this afternoon and it was a eureka! moment. Good job Mikey. Also, I have to give props to my twitter friend and podcaster (and fellow challenge entrant – good luck!) Darryl Gregory. He interviewed me for his podcast, Unsigned Underground, a few months ago and described me in a cool way which helped me a lot.

So now, I’m sooo happy I finally have my perfect pitch! In the nick of time too – I have to print some postcards in preparation for an International Women in the Arts conference I’m attending in Tennessee in a mere 4 weeks! Phew! Now I can get that done, and be able to hand them out and say my pitch with complete confidence. 🙂

Sweet. I was so inspired after finishing it that I even gave my biography a little tweak at the same time. I like that better too.

Now, off to update all of my materials online and otherwise before I tackle Week 3!

See you next week,

Kim

xxoo

www.kimjarrett.com
gigs – cds – mp3s – news

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 7:49 pm

    I’d listen to you based on that 😉 Saw Sheryl Crow about a year ago at a small venue in London, was very good, can just about hear rootsy edge in Yesterday’s Gone.

    • July 20, 2010 1:55 pm

      Thank you! And I guess it worked, since you listened. 🙂
      I checked out your facebook page (rather hurriedly – will visit longer soon) – song a week, eh? Ambitious! Good luck!!
      Kim
      xo

  2. Atul Rana permalink
    July 24, 2010 7:14 am

    Lol yeah thanks for the comment on my band’s blog. The funky chicken dance in the office rocks!

    And I love your pitch too, straight to the point and sharp at the target niche. So you might not exactly like James Taylor but if you are into that genre of music then your pitch tells ’em exactly what we are dealing with.

    Good luck with the rest of the challenge 🙂

Leave a Reply

