Skip to content

Music Success in Nine Weeks – Week 5 – Blog Challenge 2.0

August 13, 2010

Week 5 – Fully over halfway there! It’s all about blogging and I’m so not being a good girl by blogging sort of inconsistently, but hey – I’m new to this so hopefully I’ll get the hang of it soon. When I first read the book – Music Success in Nine Weeks – I wondered if Week 5 shouldn’t be up there near the beginning of the book, since it seemed pretty vital to the program. So much so that I decided I wanted to have that going on while I went through the book week by week, so I tried to start my blog back in April… Yeah. That didn’t go so well… First, I got all hung up on my pitch not being ready – I wanted to be able to put it in my “about” section – and then, I couldn’t decide which blogging platform to use… wordpress? blogger? myspace? reverbnation? my artistdata page? A lot of choice. Too much, really. Thank goodness for this challenge, or I might still be on the fence there… I’m not always great at decision-making. I don’t like making the one wrong and having to do things twice. So, I decided to try the wordpress blog from within my website, as Ariel suggests. I had it set-up right there at /blog and everything, but then when I got back around to it last month to start this challenge, something was a bit whack (don’t remember what exactly, but I think it was too many user names and passwords and it was getting messy), so I ditched that and decided to use a wordpress page on it’s own. I was concerned at first because I did like the consistency of having it right in my site, but then I realized it will be better for me later, because “Kim Jarrett” the soft rock artist/singer songwriter is only one piece of my business. I’m also a drummer and/or backing vocalist in a few others bands (3LD, Elana Harte and more), as well as being into non-profit administration so I thought my blog would be a good place to talk about the other “bits” of me.

So, now here I am, merrily posting away. I also set-up profiles across the web and at openID etc. so I can leave my little flowered-head picture around (that’s where I’m applying my consistency) when I say hi on other people’s blogs and pages. I started doing that a few months ago so now I just have to add some links to my blogroll, and set about reading more blogs!

I’m excited about my blog target research because I have a new release to unleash onto the world soon, and blogs will definitely be the base of my promotional strategy. I’m also considering a small push of my back catalogue, hoping that the year of release is less relevant these days.  Or maybe just a single song. Actually – are there any thoughts on that out there? I mean, I know *I* don’t care what year a song was recorded or released – I just care if I like it or not. What about re-packaging old songs into a release under a new name? Is it worth it when you can sell single songs anyway, into a customizable package? I’d love to know opinions if you’d care to tell me your thoughts.

Catch ya soon with Week 6 – Connecting with Fans via Your Monthly Newsletter. I even have a recent success story to go along with that one. 🙂

Kim

xxoo

www.kimjarrett.com

gigs – cds – mp3s – news

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 1:40 pm

    Hey Kim,

    Thanks for the blog post. I am also trying to figure out how to navigate among my different personas (inspirational songwriter vs. instrumentalist). Do I integrate or create separate blogs, sites, etc?

    I can also relate to having a back catalog. I have a CD I originally released nine years ago that I’ve recently re-released with a new design, especially so people can find me with my current website. I’m planning to put out a Vol. 2 this Fall and hope to have interest in that generate interest in my older stuff. But, yeah, if it’s good it doesn’t matter when it came out, right?

    Take care!

    Kelly

    • August 15, 2010 3:28 pm

      Hey Kelly! Thanks for dropping by –
      I just popped over to your blog and read a few. Keep it up – I enjoy your sense of humour!
      Kim
      xo

Leave a Reply

