Skip to content

Circles and Cycles and Happy Birthday Dad!

November 5, 2011

I’ve been thinking lately about cycles and patterns – well, more than usual anyway. Probably because I feel like I’m in a down cycle, or an ending of sorts. This time of year does that to me. So does the spring. My favourite seasons, and my most emotionally low times…
As I approach another birthday, I tend to get extra reflective… also, being born in December means I have the year end in general reflective thing going on too. Makes for an interesting last quarter of every year that’s for sure!
But – It’s not a sad thing, nor a bad thing to have these “down” periods. I’m starting to enjoy them more each year, and I find it weird as more recently, I’ve noticed a few missing ones. The “up” cycles are getting longer somehow.
Am I getting older, and therefore wiser? Probably. Am I gaining better control of my thoughts and therefore my life? Again, probably, and related to experience. And work.
So, this year, I’ve come to realize – I like getting older! Being young sucks – all riddled with impatience, ego, and shallow thinking!
The thing I’m beginning to master in my old(er) age is living with the cycles, knowing the end is but a beginning!
I wonder what I’ll learn over my next 37 years? Hopefully I’ll be even more patient, kind, and generous… just like my Father’s been my whole life. He’s 75 this November – and remains the best man I know. I’m always trying to follow his example, and be more patient. More kind. More generous. And sometimes I feel like I’m getting closer.

Happy Birthday, Dad! I love you.

Kim
xo
http://www.kimjarrett.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 7:12 pm

    Kim, what a beautiful post! Thanks for sharing! Xo

    Diana Z : )

  2. Glenna permalink
    February 16, 2012 12:15 pm

    True. Your dad has always been awesome. Even when I was young and stupid and said to him, “It’s your 50th birthday! You’re half a century old!” He gave me a *look* but he didn’t do anything else.

    Happy belated Birthday!

Leave a Reply

