Skip to content

Random Sketches and Thoughts on Creating

June 5, 2012

This post is a mostly visual entry of some sketches of mine. I rarely entertain my visual artist self, but lately, it’s been reminding me of it’s existence.

Mike Costantino in Pencil - Kim Jarrett 2002

It’s Mike Costantino (twitter.com/mikeizims) and his Amazing bass from early 2002

This first sketch is of Mike Costantino: my partner, producer, bassist, personal chef, among other things. It’s from 2002… His hair is a lot longer now but he still plays that Amazing bass. That is it’s name – not *just* the way he plays it.

Statue of Unknown Person - Kim Jarrett 2001

A sketch in pencil of a statue of an unknown person from late 2001

The second is of a statue – most likely based on a person at some point, but I don’t know who that was so I can’t elaborate. Sorry! πŸ˜‰Β  It says 2001. Most likely just a few months before the one of Mike. I “art” in spurts. Much like my songwriting. I like to have a few things on the go at once – it helps give all of them more momentum and then it’s more like a “project”. If things are too one-at-a-time-y, they are easier to put off, or never complete. At least, for me I find that. For instance, I currently have 12 or so songs on the go, 8 of which I would call more or less complete. The others are in various stages of complete, or almost complete. Or, I’ve decided they’re worthless and I’m ignoring them. For now at least. Sometimes I uncover things I dismissed in the past, and discover I like them just fine. But generally, my process is this: I sit down with my book, pen in hand (I write lyrics and notes about structure in a notebook by hand with a pen – no typing until they’re mastered and ready-to-release) and there they all are. I can rearrange pieces of them, I can see them all – I can consolidate. When I get stuck on one, I have 4 or 5 others I can go to so I don’t waste (as much) time. It’s also better for seeing how one-sided I can be at times… easier to notice when I’m essentially writing the same song with similar chord progressions and/or themes, just in a different key, or in some sort of reverse pattern. That can get depressing! To see how very little “new” ideas one *really* has. Sigh. But – on the other hand, these themes must be important, or something must still be unlearned, if there it is – poking itself into all my creations… right?

How do you create? Are you old-school with pen & paper like me? Do you wait for inspiration, or work on things consistently? Let me know in the comments!

Kim
xo
www.kimjarrett.com
gigs – cds – mp3s – news – blog

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenna permalink
    June 5, 2012 6:45 pm

    This year I’m participating in the Sketchbook Project, and am very excited about it! Generally, though, every Tuesday I get together with some friends for Stitch-n-Bitch where we craft and chat. It’s not always stitches, although I am currently knitting like a fiend in exchange for a painted portrait from a friend.

    You can participate, too: http://www.arthousecoop.com/projects/sketchbookproject

    • June 6, 2012 10:34 am

      Wow – That’s a cool thing that Sketchbook Project! And art “swapping” is a great idea, too. Usually, artists prefer the exchange of art for cash, but hey – if one is in the market for a painting or a piece of knitted finery, then it works out well, doesn’t it? πŸ˜‰

      • Glenna permalink
        June 6, 2012 11:13 am

        Indeed it does.

  2. Ruth Jarrett permalink
    June 7, 2012 3:49 pm

    The only thing I created was you. πŸ™‚

    • June 7, 2012 3:58 pm

      Ah, geez! πŸ˜‰ You’re amazing!! You just created a groan, and a giggle. Love you, Mom. xxoo

Leave a Reply

