Skip to content

Fall 2012 – The 7 Year Itch, Thanksgiving & New Beginnings

October 5, 2012

Fall is my favourite time of year. I just love the colour of the leaves, and the sound of them under my feet, and shuffling along the sidewalk. It’s a time of change, and renewal, and letting go.

7 years ago (!) Mike & I began hosting jam nights and songwriter nights in Toronto. It’s been wonderful – meeting new people, hearing their music, and getting to join them in playing it! When I began my music career over 10 years ago, my original plan was to become a songwriter, but over the last decade, life happened, and I evolved into a performing singer/songwriter, as well as a backing musician. I couldn’t be more pleased, and surprised with my life, and my musical experiences. If you had told me back then that I would be drumming with people – and even OWN a set of drums no less – jamming with pro musicians, singing harmony on the spot with songs unheard, and that Mike would be with me the whole time too – I wouldn’t have believed it for a second. Isn’t music wonderful?! Understatement for sure.

Now Fall 2012 is upon us, and I am returning to my roots – in particular my songwriting. Mike & I are gearing up to do a bunch of recording, and some co-writing, and as a result, we are streamlining ourselves in terms of our music activities. After 7 amazing years, we are hanging up our jam hats to re-focus, re-charge, and re-cord. Exciting! Will we host jams again? Who knows? If I’ve learned one thing in my life it’s never say never, and clearly, it’s been proven over and over that’s the case, so I can’t say, but – I can say this:

THANK YOU!!! To everyone who has come out to share their songs or jam with us, or just listen over the years. From The Hooch, to Gypsy-Co-op, to Liberty Bistro, to Slack’s, to Liberty Bistro again, and to Spirits – it’s been a great ride! If I could go back – I wouldn’t change a thing. How fitting that it’s Thanksgiving Weekend, too (in Canada, for those who are confused) – perfect timing! I would love to make a list of all your names, but it would be so terribly long and I’m afraid I would accidentally overlook someone, but know that I remember you – even if I only met you once – and know that I am thankful you were there. ๐Ÿ™‚ I would love it if you took the time to comment on this post for posterity.

Once again – heartfelt thanks to you all from myself, & Mike. We couldn’t have done it without you!

Cheers, and keep on (soft) rockin’,

Kim (& Mike)
xo

www.kimjarrett.com
gigs – cds – mp3s – news – blog

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2012 12:09 am

    Just over ten years! It’s true! You birthed your first album as I birthed my first baby. โค I am excited to hear what you re-cord once you have re-charged and re-focused. Love you both! (And rock on, Geddy Lee!)

    • October 6, 2012 12:15 pm

      Ha ha! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Your birth hurt a bit more than mine, I would think. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And – it’s handy to use her age as a reference when I forget just how long it’s been, too.

      Can’t wait to share my next “baby” with you.

      Kim
      xxoo

  2. Terry permalink
    October 6, 2012 8:10 am

    While you and Mike are wonderful performers, you are an exceptionally talented songwriter and Mike is a cracker-jack producer. Sliding your focus to those strengths for a while sounds exciting and energizing – can’t wait to hear the results!

    • October 6, 2012 12:19 pm

      Terry – thank you! We are very excited and your encouragement means a lot. Kim xxoo

  3. Martin permalink
    October 6, 2012 8:52 am

    A Renaissance! Looking forward to hearing the fruits of your labours…

    • October 6, 2012 12:25 pm

      Thanks, Martin! We’re looking forward to sharing them with you! Kim xxoo

  4. October 6, 2012 11:05 am

    The jam nights I attended were always dominating. Thanks for the good times. Looking forward to some new Jarrett tunes in the future.

  5. Ruth Jarrett permalink
    October 6, 2012 7:39 pm

    We enjoyed the times with you and Mike at Spirits. I think your future is bright and many good things are still to come.

    • kimjarrett permalink*
      October 10, 2012 11:34 am

      Awww. Thanks Mom! ๐Ÿ™‚ xxoo

  6. Cameron permalink
    October 9, 2012 9:08 pm

    Thoroughly enjoyed every jam/open mic night I attended, I’m only sorry I couldn’t come to more. Looking forward to all that comes next. Is this the end of vampiric Kim & Mike – are you going to re-join the realm of ‘those who sleep when it’s dark’??

    • kimjarrett permalink*
      October 10, 2012 11:37 am

      lol. My vampiric ways will never quite go away entirely, although I will admit to being actually awake and functional by 10am for almost half a year now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      We always enjoyed having you out to listen and/or play a few! xxoo

Leave a Reply

