Skip to content

2014: Looking Back with Thanks

January 24, 2015

It’s always nice to look back over a slice of time and not only count your blessings, but give yourself a little credit for some accomplishments. Especially when you’re sort of new at that, and more accustomed to beating yourself up. For instance, old me would have been quick to call the Christmas Every Day: Toronto Musicians for Change Campaign a failure because we didn’t reach our fundraising goal of $10,000 for Daily Bread. New me knows that we did a GREAT job! Elana Harte & I wrote a really fun original song, and a slew of musical friends joined us in recording it. Then we all used it to help raise almost $1,700 for Daily Bread. Yes, a far cry from ten grand, but that money goes a long way in the hands of a non-profit organization with the means and expertise to put it to good use fighting hunger in our communities. And while we were doing that, Elana & I also got to perform and chat on Rogers Daytime Toronto – my first TV appearance!

Also, the song, “Christmas Every Day” secured some holiday radio play in Canada (CHMR – 93.5 FM, CICW – The Grand 92.2 FM and CJLS “The Wave”), and just this week it also scored an Honourable* Mention in the Soft Rock category of the 2014 SongDoor International Songwriting Competition! (update March 30 2015 – “Christmas Every Day” is a Finalist in the 16th Annual Great American Song Contest 2014 too!)

All of that in itself made it a good year for me, but there were other awesome things too: co-producing the new indie music series, “Bare Bones & Up Front” at the Toronto Centre for the Arts (also with Elana Harte) as well as performing with Mike in the first series (what a beautiful venue!), and having some other songs that I co-wrote with Elana get recorded and released by her blues rock band – Elana Harte & Stiletto Flats! Some exciting stuff right there (update March 30 2015 – “I’ll Be”, one of those co-writes, is also a Finalist in the 16th Annual Great American Song Contest 2014)! Of course, other things happened over the 12 months of 2014, but these were some of my top musical moments. I hope the beautiful people in my life will forgive me for posting a blog to satisfy my ego, but it’s winter, and a little too easy to get depressed this time of year. As a newly minted “new me” (who in reality is getting kinda old now… funny how that goes), here I am consciously recognizing and sharing some personal “wins”. Tootin’ my own horn on the interweb. But this is what you need to do when your old self would have forgotten all the good things underneath the messy pile of things done “wrong”, and things still to do. Another year over. Another year wiser. Another year of amazing experiences and even more amazing people.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, for being a part of my life, and for making 2014 a great year! I hope you had a good one, too. I would love to know what your personal wins were if you’d care to share them with me in the comments. All the best for 2015!

Love,

Kim

xo

www.kimjarrett.com

gigs – cds – mp3s – news – blog *

Yes I added the “u” – it’s prettier! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

